Farewell brewing. You’ve been amazing!

I’m leaving the world of brewing.

Hopefully not for too long though…

It’s been a tough decision, but we’ve decided to move back to Taranaki to be closer to my family and my Dad who has got cancer. Jobs come and go but we all only have one family and it’s going to be great to be living around the corner from Mum, Dad and my brother and his family so we can spend loads of quality time together.

Good George Brewing will continue on, with our great brewers Nate Ross and JB Martineau taking the reins and doing the Good things that they’re currently doing and I’m sure I’ll be keeping in close touch with them, especially as I want to see how our barrel aged and sour beers go over the coming months and years and taste my babies as they progress!

Thanks for everyone in the brewing world’s support. It’s been an incredible 13 years since I began as an innocent trainee brewer. I’ve made friends for life and will hopefully keep meeting all of the brilliant people that surround this industry.

And if anyone wants to set up a brewery in New Plymouth and throw heaps of money at me… You know where to find me 🙂

Image

Rock on!!!!

 

 

 

33 thoughts on “Farewell brewing. You’ve been amazing!

  1. All the best Kelly,
    Thanks for bringing great beer (and encouraging discussion about great beer) to the Tron.
    Hope the battle goes well and your old man makes Cancer his Bitch!

  2. Sorry to hear the news Kelly, but I’m sure brewing hasn’t sent the last of you. As you say, there’s more to life than a job. Best of luck!

  3. All the best for your move back home. You sure are doing the right thing. I lost my dad to cancer. Those last months were the most important time of my life, wouldn’t have change them for anything in the world. Beer will always be there for you later!!! Take care & thanks for the awesome beer you have produced!
    Kim young @ Baylands Brewery

  4. All the best Kelly. Even in difficult times like these, your attitude is spot on. Enjoy your time with your family. Rest assured your extended family here in the beer world will welcome you back at any time and in any capacity.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.